Kondo Racing triumph in Fuji Super-Tec

One week after taking part in the grueling 45th International Suzuka 1000km, many of Super GT’s best drivers and a few of their teams followed it up by racing in the Super Taikyu Endurance Series’ crown jewel, the 9 hour Fuji Super-Tec.

The race saw the continued dominance of the Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 in the top-ranked ST-X category, as Kondo Racing scored the overall win to lead a Nissan 1-2 finish.

The #24 ThreeBond GT-R of Yudai Uchida, Tomonobu Fujii, and Kazuki Hiramine completed 302 laps around Fuji Speedway to win by a margin of two laps over the second-placed #13 Endless Sports Advan GT-R, piloted by the all-star lineup of GT300 championship leader Hideki Yamauchi, Masataka Yanagida, Kyosuke Mineo, and video game developer Yukinori “Yuke” Taniguchi.

Third overall, completing 299 laps, was the #25 K’s Frontier Porsche 911 GT3-R (Tomoki Nojiri/Taiyo Iida/Tetsuo Ogino).

Only two cars competed in ST-1, with the overwhelming favourites winning out – the #777 D’Station Porsche 991 (Satoshi Hoshino/Seiji Ara/Tatsuya Hoshino/Lee Jung Woo), completing 286 laps.

ST-2’s classic battle of the rally-inspired Subarus and Mitsubishis was a romp by the #59 TOWAINTEC Subaru WRX STi (Manabu Osawa/Hitoshi Gotoh/Yasutaka Hinoi), which won by seven laps and completed 271.

ST-3 saw a 1-2 finish for Lexus, led home by the #62 Denso Le Beausset Motorsports RC 350 (Koki Saga/Yuichi Nakayama/Kenta Yamashita/Yuya Hiraki) that completed 274 laps. Notable newcomers SKT Team Motoyama finished third in the #35 Nissan Fairlady Z, driven by another all-star lineup of Satoshi Motoyama, Hironobu Yasuda, and Masaki Kano.

The immensely deep ST-4 class was decided in a grandstand finish, won by the class-leading #13 Endless Advan Toyota 86 (Nobuhiro Murata/Ryo Ogawa/Yuya Motojima/Atsushi Shimaya), who pipped the #86 Toyota Team TOM’s Spirit 86 (Takamitsu Matsui/Takuto Iguchi/Naoya Gamou/Kazuya Oshima) to the line by just 0.791 seconds on their 265th and final lap. Toyota 86es took a 1-2-3-4 finish in the category.

Last but not least, the ST-5 class, won by the #19 BRP★J’S Honda Fit (Kaoru Ijiri/Masanobu Komiya/Koichi Okumura/Tomoya Matsuda) in another close finish over the #2 Team Bomex Honda Fit (Hideshi Matsuda/Junichiro Yamashita/Susumu Nakamura/Koji Yamanishi), winning by 1.614 seconds after 248 laps.

The next round of the championship takes place on October 23 at Okayama International Circuit.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s