Motegi GT Grand Final entry list published

Super GT has published the full 44-car entry list for the double-header Motegi GT Grand Final, officially Rounds 3 and 8 of the championship, to be held on November 11-13 at Twin Ring Motegi circuit.

The full field of 15 GT500 cars and 29 GT300 teams will be entered for this historic final race meeting. Saturday’s race (Round 3) will see cars running at half-ballast (1 kilogram per championship point), while Sunday’s final race (Round 8) will see the field run ballast-free.

This race will be the last for the current-spec GT500 cars, including the last for the Lexus RC-F before it is replaced by the new LC 500 flagship. There are no changes in the GT500 field from the last round at Buriram.

GT300 is highlighted by the return of five GT300 teams that did not make the trip to Buriram, Thailand: Team Mach (#5 Mach Toyota 86 MC), Team Taisan SARD (#26 Taisan Audi R8), Dijon Racing (#48 Dijon Nissan GT-R), Lamborghini Team Direction SHIFT (#108 Direction 108 Lamborghini Huracán), and Tomei Sports (#360 RunUp & DOES Nissan GT-R).

2016 Porsche Carrera Cup Japan champion Tsubasa Kondo makes his series debut for Team Taisan SARD, replacing veteran Shogo Mitsuyama alongside 2015 PCCJ champion Yuya Motojima.

Dijon Racing are back, with “Pink-zilla” piloted by the potent lineup of Mitsunori Takaboshi and Takayuki Aoki. Takaboshi last drove in the Suzuka 1000km, replacing the injured Katsumasa Chiyo at S Road MOLA International, and scored an impressive podium finish on his GT500 debut. Takaboshi and Aoki last drove the Dijon GT-R together at the Fuji GT 300km Race in August.

Because both the aforementioned teams scored points in 2016, but failed to take part in all races in 2016, they will still have to carry some ballast even for the final race on Sunday: The #26 Taisan R8 will run 6kg of ballast on Saturday and 3kg on Sunday, and the #48 Dijon GT-R will run 2kg on Saturday, and 1kg on Sunday.

Hironori Takeuchi joins Kyosuke Mineo in the #108 Direction Huracán, the 2001 GT500 champion and co-owner of the team replacing Kiwi Jono Lester for the final two races.

There are no Balance of Performance changes from the last round at Thailand, but the #30 apr Racing Toyota Prius GT (Hiroaki Nagai/Kota Sasaki) will run with its lithium-ion battery hybrid powertrain that was missing in Thailand.

It is also expected to be the last race for the aging Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3, currently in use by R’Qs Motorsports and Arnage Racing, and the non-homologated Lexus RC-F GT3.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s