A New Year’s letter from the editor

To you, the reader of Super GT World, wherever you may be:

I cannot properly put into words how grateful I am for your support over the first six months of the site.

When I started Super GT World in July 2016, I had a clear vision in mind: To deliver high-grade, quality, insightful, and detailed analysis and coverage of the Autobacs Super GT Series, which had rarely if ever been done to this level outside of Japan.

There was no outlet for it on any of the major sports car racing sources, and opportunities to provide it elsewhere had fallen through – so after months of internal debate, I took a chance and decided to go at it myself, on a new platform, with nothing more than too much free time and a free WordPress blog at my disposal.

My main focus was on Super GT, though by happy accident, we also touched on other series – Super Formula, Japanese F3, Super Taikyu, Porsche Carrera Cup Japan – due to their deep ties with Super GT.

It was a lot of fun, even if I did not meet my own exceedingly high standards for just the first partial season on Super GT World, where I felt like I was losing sight of my stated goals for the site and its presence on social media. By my own admission, I didn’t make quite the progress that I’d hoped for by the end of the calendar year, and the quality of content published did not always meet my standards, looking back on it.

Still, I am pleased with the first six months of Super GT World, and how they went along.

So to everyone who has had a part in the success of these first six months, I say in all sincerity: Thank you. Every fellow journalist, every driver and team, every commentator, every fan of the series – just sharing, following, interacting in any way does a world of good.

I don’t like to make very long-term goals for things lately, knowing that so much can change in an instant.

But I do want to lay out clear goals for 2017: More original content, more detailed and accurate commentary and reporting, a new database for the series to profile teams and drivers, more interviews, more of everything, but also, better everything.

Let’s work to continue the GT Revolution in 2017.

Yours sincerely,

-R.J. O’Connell

Founder and editor of Super GT World

Leave a Reply

