2017 Super GT entry caps and Seed Rights revealed

The GT Association, promoter and sanctioning body of the Autobacs Super GT Series, released the maximum entries per race for all eight rounds of the championship, as well as the complete Seed Rights listings for all 45 teams that will take part in the 2017 Super GT season.

All 45 teams will be able to start six out of eight rounds in the championship with no complications. But due to the limited garage capacity at Sportsland SUGO in Japan, and Buriram United International Circuit in Thailand, only 43 cars will be able to start the race at Sugo, and only 42 will be able to take the start in Buriram.

Thus, the new three-stage Seed Rights system will determine which teams will get priority in starting the races at Sugo and Buriram, with the exact method of selection to be announced at a later date. For now, here are the Seed Rights listings for 2017:

A Seed (GT500: 15 teams; GT300: 18 teams)

© Nissan
Class Ⅰ(GT500)
Number Team
1 Lexus Team SARD
6 Lexus Team Wako’s LeMans
19 Lexus Team WedsSport BANDOH
36 Lexus Team au TOM’s
38 Lexus Team ZENT Cerumo
24 Kondo Racing
12 Team Impul
37 Lexus Team KeePer TOM’s
17 Keihin Real Racing
100 Team Kunimitsu
8 Autobacs Racing Team Aguri
64 Nakajima Racing
16 Team Mugen
© Subaru
Class Ⅱ(GT300)
Number Team
25 VivaC Team Tsuchiya
31 apr
21 Audi Team Hitotsuyama
3 NDDP Racing
4 Goodsmile Racing & Team UKYO
61 R&D Sport
10 Gainer (Nissan)
55 Autobacs Racing Team Aguri
11 Gainer (Mercedes-AMG)
33 D’station Racing
18 Team Upgarage with BANDOH
65 K2 R&D Leon Racing
7 BMW Team Studie
51 LM Corsa
26 Team Taisan SARD
30 apr

International Seed (GT300: 1 team)

© Shimpei Suzuki / auto sport
Class Ⅱ(GT300)
Number Team
35 Panther Team Thailand

B Seed (GT300: 8 teams)

© Toshikazu Moriyama / AUTOSPORTweb
Class Ⅱ(GT300)
Number Team
48 Dijon Racing
9 Pacific with Gulf Racing
50 INGING & Arnage Racing
111 Rn-sports
360 Tomei Sports
2 Cars Tokai Dream28
5 Team Mach
52 Saitama Toyopet GreenBrave

C Seed (GT300: 3 teams)

© Toshikazu Moriyama / AUTOSPORTweb
Class Ⅱ(GT300)
Number Team
22 R’Qs Motor Sports
60 LM Corsa
117 EIcars Bentley TTO

Newcomers Saitama Toyopet GreenBrave were the only one of two new teams to exercise their right to acquire the higher Seed Rights of another team ahead of their debut, presumably that of the #63 Lamborghini Team Direction entry which has been withdrawn from the 2017 season.

The three C Seed teams are not guaranteed entry into all eight races in the 2017 season, with EIcars Bentley TTO announcing in advance that they will not run at Buriram, Thailand.

Maximum Entries per Race

Round 1: Okayama GT 300km – 45 Cars
Round 2: Fuji GT 500km – 45 Cars
Round 3: Super GT in Kyushu 300km (Autopolis) – 45 Cars
Round 4: Sugo GT 300km – 43 Cars
Round 5: Fuji GT 300km – 45 Cars
Round 6: 46th International Suzuka 1000km – 45 Cars
Round 7: Buriram Super GT Race – 42 Cars (including wildcard teams)
Round 8: Motegi GT 250km – 45 Cars


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s